Welcome to Janathi Message

Ask The Imam Question and Answer

1001 Red bull has been declared by the company as Halal after dialogue with a Muslim Council, however the company has acknowledged that red bull does contain less than 0.05% alcohol. It is also similar with other energy drinks and some fruit juices. According to the scholars should this drink and others like be considered Halal and fit for consumption or Haraam and not allowed?
The Scholars are unanimous that food and drink must be completely void of alcohol for it to be deemed as Halal. Even if it contains a small percentage, then it is still forbidden. The Muslim authority in question must investigate the exact ingredients of the food and drink in question, and be sure it does not contain even the smallest amount of alcohol. Until that is not established, it will not be fit for consumption.

(Answered by: Alims at Islamic Centre, Leicester, UK.)
Category (Halal / Haram)