Welcome to Janathi Message

Ask The Imam Question and Answer

606 What are the Five Pillars of Islam?
The Prophet (S.A.W) has said, "Islam is based upon Five Pillars" these being:

The First Pillar: Reciting the Shahadah (Declaration of Faith)

To become a Muslim you have to firmly believe in your heart and declare the Kalima Shahadah. The translation which means that there is no God but Allah (S.W.T), Muhammed (S.A.W) is the Final Messenger of Allah (S.W.T).

The Second Pillar: Salah (Performing of Prayer)

Prayer is the most essential obligatory duty which a Muslim must perform. Salat is a means of remembering Allah (S.W.T). There are 5 daily prayers.

The Third Pillar: Zakat (Charity/ Alms Giving)

Zakat is an annual payment made so that that a wealth of a person may be purified. Zakat becomes due on savings which have been kept for a year. 2.5% of the total money is given to those who are poor and needy.

The Forth Pillar: Sawm (Fasting in the month of Ramadan)

Fasting is to refrain from eating, drinking and sexual act from dawn to sunset.

The Fifth Pillar: Hajj (Pilgrimage to the holy land of Mecca)

It is compulsory on Muslims who can afford the expenses and are physically able to undertake the journey. It is obligatory only once in a Muslim's life.
Category (Islam / Muslims)