Welcome to Janathi Message

Ask The Imam Question and Answer

850 Who are the 12 successors or Caliphs to the Prophet (peace be upon him) according to the Ahle Sunnah wal Jumaah, and are all of these going to be from
the Quraish . Also which of the 12 caliphs have appeared and how many are left?
To answer this question, I have depended entirely upon one of the most important and respected books of Aqida, ‘Sharh al-Aqa’id al-Nasfiyya’, written by Allama Sa’d al-Din al-Taftazani.

He writes that the Imams must be from the tribe of Quraish, in line with the Prophet’s own statement ‘Imamat is from Quraish’. From within this tribe, the Imamat does not have to be specifically from Banu Hashim, or the offspring of Ali (may Allah be pleased with him).

Allama Sa’d al-Din al-Taftazani writes that the truthful Imams after the Prophet are/were;

1. Ali (may Allah be pleased with him)
2. His son Hasan (may Allah be pleased with him).
3. His brother Hussain (may Allah be pleased with him).
4. His son, Ali Zain al-Abidin.
5. His son, Muhammad al-Baqir.
6. His son, Ja’far al-Sadiq.
7. His son, Musa al-Kazim.
8. His son, Ali Raza.
9. His son, Muhammad al-Taqi.
10. His son, Ali al-Naqi.
11. His son, al-Hasan al-Askari.
12. Muhammad al-Qasim, the Awaited-for, the Mahdi.

(Answered by: Alims at Islamic Centre, Leicester, UK.)
Category (Ahle Sunnat Wal Jammat)