Welcome to Janathi Message

Ask The Imam Question and Answer

953 What can Zakaat be used / spent on? And what can't Zakaat be used/ spent on.
The Holy Quran States: “Zakaat (compulsory due for the have not’s) is only for those who are poor and needy and those who collect it, and those in whose hearts the love of Islam is to be reposed and for the freeing of persons in bondage, and for debtors, and for spending in the way of Allah (S.W.T) and for the travelers. This is the Command of Allah (S.W.T). And Allah (S.W.T) is All Knowing, Wise.”

(Para 10, Ruku 14, Ayah 60) Translation taken from Kanzul Imaan by Imam Ahmed Raza Khan (R.A).

The Surah establishes that Zakaat can be given to 8 categories of people; these are:

1. Those living in absolute poverty (Lil Fuqaraa).
2. Those who cannot meet their basic needs (Wal Masakeen).
3. The Zakaat collectors themselves (Wal Amileena Alaiha).
4. Those Potential Muslim (currently Non-Muslims) who are not yet convinced, to show
them the real spirit of Islam (Wal Muallafati Qulubu hum).
5. People whom one is attempting to free from slavery or bondage (Wa Fir Riqabi).
6. Those who have incurred overwhelming debts while attempting to satisfy their basic
needs (Wal Gharimeena).
7. Those working for an Islamic cause (Wa Fi Sabilliahi).
8. Travelers in need (Wabnis-Sabeel).

The person giving Zakaat is fully empowered to give Zakaat to anyone or all of the people established by these categories.

Zakaat is not permitted for Sadaat (descendents of the Prophet Muhammad (S.A.W)) nor may it be given for Masjid, religious shrines, or shroud of the deceased as all of these cannot be owners as required in the 7th category of Islamic cause.

Taken from commentary of Kanzul Imaan, Noorul Irfan by Mufti Ahmed Yaar Khan Naeemi (R.A) Page 604-605.

And Allah (S.W.T) knows best.

(Answered by: Hafiz Mohammed Akhtar)
Category (Zakat)