Welcome to Janathi Message

Ramadan 2005 (30 Days 30 Topics)


Four Imaams (R.A)

The Arabic word FIQH refers to the legal rulings of the Muslim scholars, based on their knowledge of the SHARI`AH. The science of Fiqh started in the second century after Hijrah, when the Islamic state expanded and faced several issues which were not plainly covered in the Quran and Hadith.

The leaders of the Four Schools of Fiqh ( Islamic Law) are :

  • Imaam Abu Hanifa (R.A) - Born in Kufah 80 AH – Passed away in 150 AH. The First of the four Imams and the Founder of the Hanafi School of Thought.
  • Imaam Malik (R.A)- Born in Madinah 93 AH – Passed away in 179 AH. Founder of the Maliki School of Thought.
  • Imaam Al Shafi (R.A)- Born in Rajab 150 AH – Passed away in 204 AH. Founder of the Shafi'i School of Thought.
  • Imaam Ahmad Bin Hambal (R.A) - Born in 164 AH – Passed away in 241 AH. The last of the four imams and Founder of the Hambali School of Thought.

Although they differed in opinion, all the Imams had great respect for each other. All of them were unanimous on Aqaid (Islamic Beliefs). We, as Muslims, must respect the different Sunni schools of thought.